OTHERfolk

August 19/10 Well today is the launch of the inaugural OTHERfolk festival which is the brainchild of Joshua Richardson of Owen Sound’s Mudtown Records.  I am pretty stoked about this.  I’ve offered to volunteer and I don’t have any idea what I’ll be doing, but I’m sure it will be fun.  I’m also covering the event for myowensound.ca as a photo shoot.  So that means I’ll be out and about at all the venues getting to meet lots of cool people and listening to great music.

This is a risky venture on Josh’s behalf.  It’s never been done before in Owen Sound and I don’t believe I’ve heard of any music festival of this sort being hosted in Ontario before.  But it’s got a lot to offer those who aren’t particularly fond of folk music or the music that Summerfolk has to offer.

It’s a terrific idea.  Everybody benefits.  The artists get local exposure.  The venues get to make money.  The fans love this.  And Joshua is doing a service to his community by promoting local artists and helping the economy downtown.

Summerfolk definitely has its’ place in Owen Sound and Grey Bruce.  It’s been around for a very long time and isn’t going away any time soon.  But there is a new generation of music fans coming up that want to be entertained in the summer.  Hey, I’m the generation that came up alongside Summerfolk and I don’t even like folk music….never have…never will.  I love David Bowie and Alice Cooper.  I listen to classic rock and new rock and stuff my kids like.  But folk music just isn’t for me.

When I arrive tonight at the venues I want the fans to be enjoying the music and enthusiastically supporting the concept.  But what I really hope for is that I can be writing about OTHERfolk again next year and the year after.  In order for that to happen, we have to show up and not only enjoy the music, but respect the venues and let Owen Sound know that OTHERfolk deserve this festival.

As they say on the promo….”because other folk need a festival too!”

One thought on “OTHERfolk.

Leave a Reply

